Hieronymus Bosch

Hieronymus Bosch

Style: Northern Renaissance, Symbolism

Lived: 1453 - 1516 (15th - 16th century)

Nationality: Netherlands

Hieronymus Bosch, also Jeroen Bosch, born to a family of a Flemish painters, spent most of his life in 's-Hertogenbosch, a town in the south of today's Netherlands, near Tilburg. In 1463, some 4000 houses in the town were destroyed by a catastrophic fire, which the then about 13-year-old Bosch may very well have witnessed.

Hieronymus Bosch became a popular painter and even received commissions from abroad. Among his most famous paintings is The Garden of Earthly Delights. This triptych depicts paradise with Adam and Eve and numerous wonderous animals on the left panel, the earthly delights with many nude figures and tremendous fruit and birds on the middle panel, and hell with depictions of fantastic punishments of the various sinners on the right panel.

Bosch never dated his paintings and signed only some of them. Only about 25 paintings remain today that are attributed to him. Philip II of Spain bought many of Bosch's paintings after the painter's death. As a result, the Prado Museum in Madrid now owns several of his works, including the famous Garden of Earthly Delights.

Pieter Brueghel the Elder was influenced by Bosch's work and produced several paintings in a similar style.

Towards the end of his life, Bosch's style changed and he created paintings with a small number of larger figures who appear to almost leave the painting. An example is The Crowning with Thorns.

Hieronymus Bosch died in 1516, and was buried in 's-Hertogenbosch on August 9 th of the same year.

copyright 2018 - artinthepicture.com

website by brunodillen.com

design by 10000spoons.be